The 2013 CPAC Straw Poll

I wasn’t planning on writing anything about the CPAC Straw Poll; however, I read this post by poorrichardsnews about Rand Paul’s straw poll win. Obviously, some perspective about the straw poll is in order. There have been 19 CPAC straw polls since 1976. Only 3 straw poll winners have become the GOP nominee: Ronald Reagan (won in 1980 and 1984), George W. Bush (2000), and Mitt Romney (2009 and 2012). Ron Paul’s wins in 2010 and 2011 are probably the only instances where someone who was not part of the GOP establishment won the straw poll.

Summary: you can’t read too much into the straw poll results.

Read my thoughts about straw polls in general here, here and here.